Each village has its own chapel, typically built over the last centuries thanks to money left in wills by inhabitants. Many still retain their original appearance: Verana, Outre-Léve, Salleret, Grand-Rosier, which dates back to the XVIII century, Petit Rosier and Gontier, built in the XIX century; others were renovated at the end of the nineteenth or twentieth centuries (Mellier, Vigneroisa, Coudreyt, Chardonney and Grand-Mont Blanc). Other chapels were built in particular places, including:
- SANT’ANNA CHAPEL, located in the shady flatland of Plan Fenêtre, upstream of the town of Rosier, founded in 1777 and renovated in 1985. On the 26th July, St. Anne’s feast day, it continues to be a place of pilgrimage.
- DEGRÈS OR ECHELLY CHAPEL, located beside an ancient mule track, in a gorge of the same name, dating back to the XVIII century and abandoned; one can still see two small windows with a view directly over the altar on the choir walls, leading to believe the opening was used to say a quick prayer by hurried passers-by. Its position is particularly picturesque: upstream, the site is overhung by an inaccessible, rocky wall, while the beautiful “royal road” still passes downstream, with impressive stone walls and cut stone base, built by King Victor Emanuel II in 1862 to reach the Dondena plain, where he would stay when hunting.
- SAN MARCO CHAPEL, with its feast day on the 25th of April, it is located in the picturesque village of Grand-Mont-Blanc. Inside, a canvas above the altar depicts a showing of the Shroud: the precious cloth is being unfolded and held up by three bishops, according to one of the most classic outlines of Shroud iconography. It concerns a memory of the passing of a special procession which brought the shroud from Chambéry to Turin, something which made an obvious mark on chapels, frescoes and monuments.